You Get A Guest Spot! And You Get A Guest Spot! And *You* Get A Guest Spot!

Tonight is Oprah Winfrey’s guest appearance on 30 Rock, and I confess to being kind of curious about how they’ll use her. You have to admire her work ethic, perseverance, and success–not just anyone can build an empire like that. At the same time, I find her increasing emphasis on materialism offputting (watching a talk show is not a lifestyle). I guess in the long run, I’m just not sure how much of a sense of humor Oprah has about herself.

So I had to smile watching her squished like a salmon in Grant Park Tuesday night, just like hoi polloi. Maybe this is a harbinger of her willingness to poke fun at herself, which seems like a crucial prerequisite to surviving the 30 Rock world. If David Schwimmer is willing to appear as Greenzo, what can we expect from Oprah Winfrey?

One thought on “You Get A Guest Spot! And You Get A Guest Spot! And *You* Get A Guest Spot!

  1. You’re so nice. I don’t find her focus on materialism off-putting–I’ve decided I just hate her. It makes me wonder if this will be a “very special episode” of 30 Rock I’ll have to pass on.

Leave a comment