R.I.P. Andy Hallett: One Part Hum, Two Parts Dinger

andy_hallet_lorne

There’s a little less music in our dimension now, folks.

Actor Andy Hallett passed away yesterday at the age of 33 after a five-year battle with heart disease. Hallett was particularly beloved by us here at TV Bacon for his role as Lorne, the Kermit-hued, lounge-singing demon on the television series Angel. On a show populated by monsters and known for going to some pretty dark places, Lorne could always be counted on to lighten things up with his playful humor and his gentle heart.

Hallett himself was a talented singer who shared Lorne’s love of music. He spent his post-Angel years working on his music career and was featured on the Angel: Live Fast, Die Never soundtrack, released in 2005.

Here’s looking at you, kid. Wherever you are.

4 thoughts on “R.I.P. Andy Hallett: One Part Hum, Two Parts Dinger

  1. Oh, no.

    What terrible news. By pure coincidence, I was just thinking of Numfar’s Dance of Joy and, by extension, Pltz Grb today. Which, of course, we would never have had without Andy Hallett and his warm, sweet Lorne.

    I don’t even drink, and I think I need a Sea Breeze–to dull this feeling and to raise in his honor.

  2. Pingback: Cherry Jones Front-Runner for 2012 Presidential Election: Emmys 2009 « TV BACON

  3. I love Lorne! No I didn’t mean to be punny. I am over a year late for this posting but since I am currently in the middle of my own Angel marathon, the sadness is fresh.
    I especially love when he starts to refer to Connor as the “little pri—!” The only person/demon to even begin to utter a gendered epithet towards a male on that show that wasn’t “son of a b****”! The B word was strangely popular in the supposedly feminist “Whedonverse”, even on Buffy.
    Thanks for the laughs, Andy.
    Thank you TV Bacon
    Kara

Leave a Reply

