BATTLESTAR GALACTICA “Sine Qua Non”: You Know How Often I’ve Had To Repair This Thing?

Oh, Bill–you’re gonna be gluing that Aurora figurine on that ship until the cows come home. The repair line might be a joking reference to Edward James Olmos actually taking an unscripted swing at the model ship on loan from a museum at the end of “Maelstrom.” It might be a reference to how often he’s had to put the fleet back together, or how often he’s had to repair his relationship with Roslin. Or Starbuck. Or Lee. Or Tigh. After “Sine Qua Non,” I’m going to take it as a reference by the writers and producers to the show itself.

In fairness, I feel like someone else should be writing about this episode, as the powers that be would have had to work hard to actually design an episode that would be less in line with my personal tastes (so grain of algae here). I don’t like Romo Lampkin, because he does little beyond reminding me of the ridiculous “Trial of Gaius Baltar” plot (“Your Honor, I know this is unorthodox, but I’d like to call to the stand…myself! And my evil twin brother! Who doesn’t exist! In the name of justice!”). I don’t have pets and could not possibly care less about Lampkin’s cat or dog (although, is he projecting that cat? Does this mean he’s the fif…oh, I don’t even care). I’m irked the Six died (Doc Cottle for Final Five!). Telling instead of showing makes me itchy. And the show loves Lee Adama a whoooooole lot more than I do. They also apparently like his Ricky Martin look more than I do.

Most important, though, I fall into the group who might enjoy the macro components of the show a wee bit more than the micro components. That’s not to say I don’t love the relationships or the character arcs, but I have a hard time cluing in when characters who have sacrificed for years suddenly make weirdly illogical decisions so they can follow their hearts, to the detriment of almost 40,000 other people. Maybe this is a problem limited to the Adamas–I still don’t understand how Lee gets away with ditching his pilot position to go play politico during wartime (if you want a journey of self-discovery, go work on that tillium ship). And as much as I understand loving Laura Roslin, I don’t see how Bill gets to quit being the highest ranking and most experienced military officer remaining among the humans to run off after the woman he loves. Hope the fleet understands that decision, Bill. Actually, I hope Laura Roslin, a woman who has squeezed herself out like a lemon for the fleet, understands that decision. Or kicks Adama’s butt for it. A lot of this fourth season has felt like the show is moving around characters like chess pieces but without the rules governing the game, just to get those characters to a spot where they want them for future storylines. If the payoff’s worth it, all is forgiven, so…fingers crossed. I really hope some of you who are more in the “I watch for the interplay and relationships” camp will comment and help make some sense of where this episode plays out in the story as a whole.

Thank goodness for Saul Tigh, then, because the intrigue of a) a Cylon having command of the Galactica and b) the first (assuming Adama’s suspicions are correct) Cylon-Cylon reproduction carries the episode. You’ve learned a lot about yourself, indeed. Looks like we’ll get the baseship and Three next week, so maybe the threads will start converging again.

One thought on “BATTLESTAR GALACTICA “Sine Qua Non”: You Know How Often I’ve Had To Repair This Thing?

  1. Pingback: Battlestar Galactica: You’re A Little Full of Myself « TV BACON

Leave a Reply

