One If By Land, Two If By Sea: TOP GEAR Races through London

topgear.jpg

As someone who is (tentatively) planning a trip to London later this year, I’m intrigued with tonight’s Top Gear, which takes on the legendarily bad London traffic. Will careful study of this episode teach a tourist how to navigate Olde London Towne? I intend to find out. The TG crew investigates the best way to get to the airport, with James taking a car (a Mercedes, no less), the Hamster on a bike, Jeremy carving the Thames in a speedboat, and the Stig on the Tube with an Oyster Card. You read that right. All of that plus Simon Cowell as the Star in a Reasonably Priced Car. Will we even need to go to London after all of that?

5 thoughts on “One If By Land, Two If By Sea: TOP GEAR Races through London

  1. Oh brilliant! There is no better way than the Tube to get to the airport, but I am curious.

    Plus, never drive in London, take the buses! The Tube great to cross the Thames, but if take it everywhere, you tour London like a groundhog. I firmly stand by the buses so that I can see every bit of London and get to wear I am going cleanly and safely!! 🙂

    Stig on the Tube. Fantastic.

  2. That was one of the first episodes of Top Gear I ever saw. I have to say that it got me hooked. I never knew races to the airport could be so suspenseful.

  3. “Bloody &$*# lights!” We were *howling*.

    While the bike was faster, as someone who has recently started spin classes, I know the Hamster was working that wheel hard. I’ll take the speedboat, please!

  4. I don’t think I have ever heard Hammond swear so much!

    “If I recall correctly, my boat actually crashed and I died.”

    Heeeeee!

  5. Ironically, I was in England when this aired and I’m bummed that I missed it. But the Tube is definitely the way to go. You get in plenty of walking around to see the sights even taking the Tube the majority of places. The bus routes tend to be a little more confusing.

Leave a Reply

