Joss Whedon Reveals Plans for Musical Web Shorts

No, not those kind of shorts. The kind you watch. On your computer.

Joss Whedon posted on Whedonesque yesterday to officially confirm reports that Neil Patrick Harris would be appearing in a series of musical internet shorts to be written and directed by Whedon. Also appearing in the limited series will be Whedonverse alums Nathan Fillion and Felicia Day.

Whedon fans had been speculating since Saturday, when Ain’t It Cool News posted an interview with Harris, in which he mentioned the project.

Here’s what the Master himself had to say on the subject:

So…..

The bag is catless.

During the strike I started writing a musical intended as a limited internet series, 3 episodes of approximately 10 minutes each. Writing with me was my brother Jed, his fiancee Maurissa, and my other brother Zack. To my shock and surprise, we finished it. To my greater shock and surprise, we managed (with the help of many people I’ll be praising at length soon) to drag it into preproduction (yes, just as DOLLHOUSE was given a start date two months away and all my comics were due.) And today, after a grueling week of writing everything ever while trying to be a producer, I got to start shooting. A musical.

This much I will say: It’s the story of a low-rent super-villain, the hero who keeps beating him up, and the cute girl from the laundromat he’s too shy to talk to. And I’m having the time of my life.

“DOCTOR HORRIBLE’S SING-ALONG BLOG”

Neil Patrick Harris…..as Dr. Horrible
Nathan Fillion……….as Captain Hammer
Felicia Day………….as Penny

And a cast of Dozens!

Coming soon.

-j.

One thought on “Joss Whedon Reveals Plans for Musical Web Shorts

  1. “The bag is catless” is now my new favorite expression, and I will use it whenever the slightest opportunity presents itself.

    Also, I want my own pair of musical shorts.

Leave a Reply

